Whitstable Junior School was originally opened as a boys school in 1879. Four Houses were created and these have remained unchanged over time meaning that some of our current pupils are members of the same House as their grandfather!

Each House was named after a well known historical figure who also had a strong connection to Kent. Each House also has a colour connected to it and today, the children wear a coloured T-Shirt for PE that matches their House. House Points are awarded to children for progress, achievement or attainment in their learning and these are totalled up and shared in Celebration Assembly each week. Sports Day sees the children competing as Houses for the Sports Day Shield and the House Captains from each House - children elected in Year 6 - organise intra-House competitions during the year.

The Four School Houses are:

Wolfe - Green

Marlowe - Red

Beckett - Blue

Caxton - Yellow