Skip to content ↓
Whitstable Junior School

Whitstable Junior School

Learning today for life tomorrow

Our Values, Visions & Community Code



Learning Today for Life Tomorrow

‘The future is not some place we are going, but one we are creating.’

Whitstable Junior School is an inclusive school admitting children from a variety of social and economic backgrounds and a wide range of academic starting points. We are committed to enabling every child to meet their academic potential – whatever their starting point – whilst also offering a wide range of experiences and opportunities for our students to develop their wider skills and abilities as well as their social skills.

We want every child to leave us as well educated, confident young people, ready to grasp whatever secondary education - and ultimately adult life - has to offer them.

 ‘The Whitstable Way’

Our school values and community code together are often referred to as ‘The Whitstable Way’. They were agreed with staff, children and parents and also reflect our school ethos which places the development of the whole child at the forefront of our work.


Determination, Trust, Fairness, Respect, Responsibility, Caring


  • Be safe
  • Be kind
  • Be responsible

Our Core Values and Community Code - The Whitstable Way - also underpins and supports our Behaviour Policy

The Royal Native Citizenship Award

The Royal Native Citizenship Award honours children at Whitstable Junior School who demonstrate good citizenship both at home, school and in the community – children who uphold the Community Code and are good examples of children who ‘show the Whitstable Way’. The award is designed to recognise, encourage and reward children who are respectful, caring, helpful, trustworthy and fair. They are children we are proud to have at Whitstable Junior School.

The Award reinforces to our school community that good citizenship and good character counts and shows them that their conduct and attitude is not only noticed and appreciated, but that it is also rewarded. The aim is that this will encourage and motivate them to become good citizens as they mature and grow into adulthood and is an explicit way of reinforcing good behaviour.

There are 4 awards - one can be achieved in each year group.

  • Bronze can be achieved as a year 3 child
  • Silver as a year 4 child
  • Gold as a year 5 child
  • Pearl as a year 6 child

One award can be achieved each academic year.